Fusion Modulation R.P.
Hello and welcome to F.M.H.Q. RP! Please feel free to look around the forum and hop on in to our expanding role-playing world!

-Moderation Team

Seen It? Review It. *Spoilers Abound*

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Seen It? Review It. *Spoilers Abound*

Post  Kyra_Xyrespace on Fri Nov 15, 2013 3:45 pm

New movies are coming out almost every week, but not all of us have the time or money to see them all. Sometimes, we just want to know what's really worth out time to watch, but we don't trust the critics all too much. So how can we fix that?

By review of course!

Most of us would trust what our peers have to say about a movie over what some critic says, so this is where we come in! If you've seen a movie that's in theaters you can come here and review it so people can see if it's worth it.

Please note that reviews will have spoilers, so tread cautiously.

A movie is allowed to be reviewed by more than one person. If two people saw the same movie but had different views on it, then that's okay! The more opinions heard the greater the choice we're allowed to make.

No R-Rated or Non-Rated movies allowed. The former is obvious, and the latter is because those non-rated can sometimes be NC-17+ without the fancy rating letter. So just to be safe, let's not go there.

Here's the way to go about reviewing for it-


[Name of the movie]
[Genre]
[Rating of the movie]
[Lead Actors/Actresses/Voice Actors/resses]
[Should Watch It/Wait for the DVD/Don't Bother]
[Synposis/Summary of the Film]
[Parts You Loved/Liked]
[Parts You Disliked/Hated]
[Something memorable]
[Overall thought about it]

Sound easy enough, right? So get reviewing people!

_________________

avatar
Kyra_Xyrespace

Posts : 694
Join date : 2013-06-16
Location : Sunny Cali

http://www.fanfiction.net/u/1062727/AnimeGirl-144

Back to top Go down

Re: Seen It? Review It. *Spoilers Abound*

Post  Kyra_Xyrespace on Sat Dec 07, 2013 7:24 pm

I'll start us off

Title: Thor: The Dark World
Genre: Superhero
Rating: PG-13
Lead Stars: Chris Hemsworth; Natalie Portman; Tom Hiddleston; Christopher Eccleston
Worth it?: Should Watch It
Synopsis: Taking place after Thor and the Avengers, the movie deals with a new threat to both Asgard and the Nine Realms in the form of the forgotten Dark Elves, and their ancient weapon, the Aether.
Liked/Loved: Frigga's funeral scene was absolutely beautiful and it makes me mourn that we mortals don't have such an amazing funeral ritual.
Disliked/Hated: Could have done without the Jane Foster scenes; I don't really care for her as compared to the other girlfriends of the Avengers.
Memorable: Captain America's cameo as portrayed by Loki.
Overall: Thor the Dark World is much better than Thor had been, and I was all too happy to see it focused more on Asgard than on Earth. Behind the Avengers, it is probably one of my favorite movies from the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Well worth the money to watch it.

_________________

avatar
Kyra_Xyrespace

Posts : 694
Join date : 2013-06-16
Location : Sunny Cali

http://www.fanfiction.net/u/1062727/AnimeGirl-144

Back to top Go down

Re: Seen It? Review It. *Spoilers Abound*

Post  Professor Utonium on Mon Jan 20, 2014 9:45 pm

I'll review something else that's very dear to my heart.

Title: The Powerpuff Girls Special (2014)

Genre: Superhero

Rating: TV-G

Lead Stars: Cathy Cavadini as Blossom, Tara Strong as Bubbles, Elizabeth Daily as Buttercup, Tom Kane as Professor Utonium, Tom Kenny as The Narrator, Roger Jackson as Mojo Jojo, and Ringo Starr as Fibonacci Sequins.

Worth it?: The Powerpuff Girls is always worth it.

Synopsis: Blossom, Bubbles, and Buttercup return in an all new special! After the girls get obsessed with the new "Dance Pants Revolution" game, Mojo Jojo devises a plan to take over Townsville and destroy the Powerpuff Girls.

Liked/Loved: Literally the entire thing, they didn't coco it up like everyone thought they would.

Disliked/Hated: Bubbles had ice breath, which according to the canon, only Blossom has ice breath. Bubbles' special power is being able to speak any language.

Memorable: Any scene with Ringo Starr. The dance-off between the girls and the Professor. The badger.

Overall: Besides the little error in the canon, it was great! A lot of people thought it would be bad because of the sad outcome of Teen Titans GO!, but it was true to the old series! It was perfect and I really hope the new series takes off.

_________________
Steam Sig:
avatar
Professor Utonium

Posts : 4246
Join date : 2013-09-07
Location : The City Of Townsville

https://www.fanfiction.net/~kotomiichinose

Back to top Go down

Re: Seen It? Review It. *Spoilers Abound*

Post  Wonder Smash on Tue Jan 21, 2014 3:08 pm

I was bored, so I decided to write a review of Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

Title: Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (First Half of Season One)

Genre: Superhero/Spy

Rating: TV-PG

Lead Stars: Clark Gregg (Phil Coulson), Brett Dalton (Grant Ward), Chloe Bennet (Skye), Ming-Na Wen (Melinda May), Iain De Caestecker (Leo Fitz), Elizabeth Henstridge (Jemma Simmons)

Worth It?: Yes. Especially if you're a Marvel fan and/or are interested in superheroes.

Summary: After The Avengers successfully defend New York City from Loki and the Chitauri, S.H.I.E.L.D. tasks Agent Coulson with putting together a team of elite agents to to investigate a growing list of superhumans, dangerous organizations, and other mysterious occurrences.

Liked/Loved: The main characters, especially Coulson and Skye, are very likable, and even though most of them were created just for the series, they're portrayed so well that I ended up liking them more than most agents that are in the comics. Other major characters, such as Michael Peterson, are also portrayed well. The plot and dialogue are written very well. The action sequences are great, and the humor is hilarious at times. The special effects look good enough to be movie-quality most of the time, though not always.

Disliked/Hated: Other than Michael Peterson for a brief time, there hasn't really been a major antagonist that's as memorable as the protagonists are. While the villains who (so far, at least) have only appeared in one episode each are all pretty unique and cool in their own way, Raina and Edison Poe, who are essentially the main villains of the first half of the season, aren't particularly interesting. Character development early on in the season is fairly slow, but gets much better later on.

Memorable: The mystery of how/why Phil is still alive after Loki killed him in The Avengers. It's been handled very well so far, with most of the first half of the season leading up to a partial reveal of how S.H.I.E.L.D. managed to keep him alive. Hopefully, we get more details later on. Also, Samuel L. Jackson reprising his role as Nick Fury in a post-credits scene. (Yes, you read that right!) Said scene managed to be awesome and hilarious at the same time. Cobie Smulders reprising her role as Maria Hill in the pilot is also pretty cool.

Overall: Marvel has managed to bring the action and humor you expect from most of its recent movies to television in a big way. The main characters are awesome, and the plot is great. All it really needs at this point is a main villain that's as interesting as the heroes, and Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. could be just as good as the movies it shares a universe with. This is a show that's well worth looking into.
avatar
Wonder Smash

Posts : 930
Join date : 2013-09-07

Back to top Go down

Re: Seen It? Review It. *Spoilers Abound*

Post  Kyra_Xyrespace on Fri Feb 21, 2014 11:20 pm

I just saw this movie today, so this is why I'm reviewing it.

Title: Saving Mr. Banks
Genre: Biographical comedy-drama
Rating: PG-13
Starring: Tom Hanks, Emma Thompson, Colin Farrell, Paul Giamatti, Jason Schwartzman, and Bradley Whitford
Worth it?: Should Watch It
Synopsis: A reenactment of Walt Disney acquiring the rights to Mary Poppins for his movie, but it also delves into where Mary Poppins came from, and the parallels between the author's family the Banks, and her own life.
Liked/Loved: Everything. It was all so beautiful, although I'd have to choose the moment where Walt had a heart-to-heart with Pamela (the author) about his own past and how he moves past it. Seriously, his quote is going to rule my life.
Disliked/Hated: I was a little sad that Roy wasn't in it as a cameo, and seeing modern-day Fantasyland in 60-era Fantasyland was a little strange.
Memorable: A guy in a Mickey costume offering his arm to Pamela to escort her into the Chinese Theater for the premiere of Mary Poppins. The symbolism is beautiful. Here's an image of it. Also, when Pamela openly cries during the latter half of the Mary Poppins movie.
Overall: If you love Disney, or you love Mary Poppins, you need to see this beautiful piece of film! Bring some tissues, because I wept more in this film than I have ever done for a movie since Bambi and The Lion King.

_________________

avatar
Kyra_Xyrespace

Posts : 694
Join date : 2013-06-16
Location : Sunny Cali

http://www.fanfiction.net/u/1062727/AnimeGirl-144

Back to top Go down

Re: Seen It? Review It. *Spoilers Abound*

Post  LBGamingYT on Tue Sep 30, 2014 5:29 pm

Title: Arrow
Channel: CW
Genre: TV Drama
Rating: TV-14
Starring: Stephen Amell, Katie Cassidy, David Ramsey, Willa Holland, Paul Blackthorne, Emily Bett Rickards, Colton Haynes, Susanna Thompson, John Barrowman, and Manu Bennett
Worth it?: Should Watch It
Synopsis: This show follows the event of millionaire Oliver Queen as he is trapped on an island for 5 years and comes back to Starling City with superhuman capabilities.
Liked/Loved: The action. Action is what you would expect from a DC Comic or Movie, exciting and fun to watch. The cast. The cast of Arrow itself was perfectly chosen as Amell nails the role of Oliver Queen in this show and other cast members do as well. The finale. The final episode of S:1 was really packed with action and had a unexpected ending. Lastly, characters. The characters are well written in the show with some having very deep backstories such as Thea or Malcolm.
Disliked/Hated: Not much to hate out of this show in my opinion, but the fact that one of my favorite characters died at the end when ever the finale of S:1 came.
Memorable: The island scenes. These scenes pop in and out during an episode to explain Oliver's journey to escape the island (Lian Yu). These scenes were as carefully written as the present scenes. Another thing is the emotional fights with characters. Some characters get into fights and these are written perfectly as well. Finally, Olicity, need I say more?
Overall: If you are a fan of watching DC TV shows or even MARVEL, I suggest checking this one out sometime. S:1 is out on Netflix now and S:2 will go on Netflix on October 8th, 2014. S:3 also premieres on October 8th as well.
avatar
LBGamingYT

Posts : 33
Join date : 2014-09-28
Location : Somewhere around the Appalachian Mountains

http://lbgamingyt.weebly.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Seen It? Review It. *Spoilers Abound*

Post  LBGamingYT on Wed Oct 08, 2014 10:49 pm

Title: Transformers: Age of Extinction
Genre: Action
Rating: PG-13
Starring: Nicola Peltz, Mark Wahlberg, Jack Reynor, Stanley Tucci, Kelsey Grammer, Li Bingbig, Sophia Myles, T.J. Miller, Peter Cullen, Titus Welliver, Victoria Nalder, Abigail Klein, Cleo King, Melanie Specht, King
Worth it?: Should Watch It
Synopsis: The movie follows the conclusion of Transformers: Dark of The Moon with a family residence in Texas, the Yeagers. Cade Yeager, an inventor played by Mark Wahlberg and Tessa, a teenage girl played by Nicola Peltz.
Liked/Loved: The action. The action was much better than the last few with better sequences and more destructive battles. The cast. Wahlberg does a really good job with playing an inventor with a obsession with inventing things. Lastly, CGI. This factor is a rare thing I like but the CGI for the Transformium element in the movie is absolutely stunning, we can tell they put a lot more effort into making this element alive.
Disliked/Hated: The ending. The ending doesn't really focus on a battle with Galvatron
AKA:
Megatron
but instead decides to set up another Transformers sequel. Another thing I hated was the (sorta) lack of Transformers. Ok, so the movie has a lot of time in the opening without any Transformers themselves showing up. Lastly, Linkin Park didn't do the song for this for which in my opinion 'Final Masquerade' or 'Until It's Gone' would have been nice for this movie.
Memorable: The song scenes. Even though I hated how there was no LP for the song in TF4, Imagine Dragons did a good job with 'Battle Cry' and the scenes that it was put into. Also, the scene where Bumblebee goes into KSI Headquarters and sees Stinger, the rip-off of him. He does say some pretty funny quotes during this scene itself.
Overall: Even though I didn't like Transformers: Dark of The Moon, this movie makes up for it. If you are a fan of the Transformers franchise, this is honestly the best one out of them all. I say you should watch it.
avatar
LBGamingYT

Posts : 33
Join date : 2014-09-28
Location : Somewhere around the Appalachian Mountains

http://lbgamingyt.weebly.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Seen It? Review It. *Spoilers Abound*

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum